Organizers of the Holodomor

25 September 2019

Congress of winners. 1934. Union newsreel. Director R.B. Hykov.

Central State CinePhotoPhono Archives of Ukraine named after H. Pshenychnyi. № 2591.


Newsreel tells about the 17th Congress of the All-Union Communist Party (Bolsheviks), which was held in Moscow from 26 January to 10 February 1934. This congress is known as “Executed Congress”, as more than half of its delegates were repressed during the Great Terror. The film shows the organizers of the Holodomor Joseph Stalin (Dzhugashvili), Vyacheslav Molotov (Skriabin), Lazar Kaganovich, Pavel Postyshev, Stanislav Kosior, Vlas Chubar, and Mendel Khatayevich, which by Resolution of the Appeal Court of Kyiv in 2010 were found guilty in organizing and directly committing genocide of a part of the Ukrainian national group during 1932 and 1933.