Congratulations to Gareth Jones Medal Winners

1 October 2019

Leading researchers at the Holodomor Research Institute, Vasyl Marochko and Volodymyr Serhiichuk, have been awarded the Gareth Jones Medal.

According to The Day newspaper, the Gareth Jones Medal is a non-state, special-status award, created to honor and reward journalists, publishers, scholars, philanthropists for their significant contribution to the Holodomor-genocide and mass famines of  1921–1923 and 1946–1947 studies, high professional skills, promoting the restoration of the historical truth about the tragic pages of the past of Ukraine. The founder of the award is Institute of Journalism of Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv.

The honors are awarded by decision of the Academic Council of the Institute of Journalism of Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv. According to the decision of the Scientific Council, of September 17, 2019, the first awarded were:

  1. Larysa Oleksiyivna Ivshyna – Editor-in-Chief of The Day newspaper, initiator and author of public events and publications on the Holodomor in Ukraine.
  2. Vasyl Ivanovych Marochko – Doctor of Historical Sciences, Professor, Chief Researcher at the Institute of History of Ukraine of the NAS of Ukraine, Leading Researcher at the Holodomor Research Institute of the National Holodomor-Genocide Museum, Head of the Association of Holodomor Researchers in Ukraine, author of the “Holodomor Encyclopedia.”
  3. Myroslava Vasylivna Prykhoda – Candidate of Philological Sciences, Associate Professor of the Department of Publishing and Editing of the Institute of Joutnalism of Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv, initiator and head of the editing project “Journalist Gareth Jones.”
  4. Volodymyr Ivanovych Serhiichuk – journalist, Doctor of Historical Sciences, professor, head of the Department of History of World Ukrainian Studies at Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv, author of numerous researches and publications on the Holodomor-genocide.